Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-12-2007, 01:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 216
Concrete tank

I have a 55g but I want to build a concrete tank that is going to be about 8ft long by 3ft wide. A friend of mine told me that i could build a concrete tank with a glass front but line the bottom and the sides with pond liner. Has anyone out there done that before. I guess the pond liner is to stop the water from leaking through the concrete.
__________________

__________________
pinda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 05:37 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 260
thats an interesting idea... but that tank would be heavy as sin. would u be putting it into a wall or something? i guess a liner would work *shrug* but id be wary about chemicals in the concrete leaching into the tank.
__________________

__________________
Agnate80700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 06:11 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
flanque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 740
I'd be worried about the liner ripping.
flanque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 06:42 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 216
I will be putting it into a wall and I will be lining the concrete with a soft barrier both at the top and bottom to ensure that the lining doesn't break.
__________________
pinda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 06:47 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
flanque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 740
Yeah. I wish you the best of luck, but this seems like a disaster in waiting.
flanque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 08:38 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,544
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
I'd be worried about both leakage from the liner and the weight of the tank. 8 ft by 3 ft. and to be strong enough to support all the weight of the water, sand, rocks, etc. will need to be quite thick I'd imagine, and quite heavy... I would custom build a glass tank using steel supports or something before I went and used concrete, but that's just my opinion.
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 08:49 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
flanque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 740
Yeah I agree. It seems very much overkill and lends itself to problems and to be very inflexible. At least with a steel frame and glass tank you can move it around.
flanque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 08:58 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Tanks don't cost that much, I would just buy one..
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 10:30 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 216
I am doing it because glass is so expensive where I live. I saw a similar setup at the zoo only difference is that they had piranhas in the tank. The tank will be heavy as it will be a concrete tank but it is a concrete tank attached to a wall in my house.
__________________
pinda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 11:57 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
You'd be better off in purchasing a fiberglass tank, which would insulate better, is lighter, and more cost efficient. Zoos have concrete because usually they are older aquariums and aren't given a choice of materials to work with and concrete is cheaper for them to build.
__________________

Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coloring concrete iaclmac DIY Projects 12 05-27-2009 04:05 AM
Concrete in Aquarium? metrov Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 10-16-2008 03:10 PM
Concrete Block in aquarium?? absoluteincubus Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 06-26-2008 02:00 PM
Concrete Background jratuszn DIY Projects 7 07-07-2004 02:03 PM
Concrete Stand. William DIY Projects 5 04-26-2004 11:12 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.