Reverse Osmosis...Opinions?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mandimay24

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone! I've been a FW hobbyist for years and am embarking on the exciting (and confusing) world of SW for the first time. I've done a lot of research on tank set-up, but one question thing still remains unanswered...is reverse osmosis a necessity? Some say yes, some say no. How expensive is it? Is it really going to make that much of a difference, especially with hardy fish? Let me know your opinions.

Thanks!
Mandi

Tap water is dirty. Easiest way to say it. Ro/di water is clean. You will have spend money on products to get the tap water right. With RO or even store bought mix its done. To buy ro water it is usually around 50cents or $1 per gallon. Pre-made saltwater made with ro is around the same per gallon. How big is your tank? I think it is what is easiest for you but I would not use tap water.

Thanks Bige. It's a 55 gallon tank. I've done research and priced the RO/DI units, but I can't seem to find an article as to how they hook up to the tank, if they're even hooked up to the tank! :) Or is it something that is installed to your main water line in the house? I also have a 90 gallon FW tank and have read that RO water is not good for them as it takes out too many metals and minerals that are beneficial to them. ?????