Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-16-2013, 04:49 PM   #161
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
Actually, it doesn't make any sense. All water is connected as one. Fast or slow, your skimmer is going to skim exactly the same amount, possibly less if the flow rate through the sump is less than the skimmer pump, but exactly the same otherwise.
I may have left out what is seemingly a significant bit of info, chime in if you will, and that is it was recommended to not have crazy amount of flow ABOVE what the skimmer is rated at... For example to not run sump flow at 900 gph when the skimmer will only do 200 gph... Is that more logical X? Or are you implying that regardless of so flow, a skimmer will still do its job? I'm trying to just get a fundamental understanding before I set everything up...
__________________

__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 07:50 PM   #162
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
yes, I'm implying exactly that. Think about it...a container of dirty water flows into another and back....the water cleaner is cleaning at say....300gph (and it's not totally cleaning...it's still letting some DOC's back into the water column). If you have the water entering the container at 700 gph...why would it clean any less? It's still only drawing 300gph, no matter how much water is going by it.
Now, slow that flow to exactly 300 gph. It's still cleaning at exactly the same efficiency.
Dwell time in the sump Makes no difference....it's still only cleaning what it can clean, and the total dissolved solids are still the total dissolved solids, period.

The benefit of faster flow through the sump may be less detritus settling. Right now I have 1900gph running through mine, but my filter socks (two 7" socks) need to be changed out every 3 days because they are clogged with detritus. And bear in mind, I am using two 50 gallon stock tanks.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 08:09 PM   #163
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Oh wow thanks for the perspective on this X... So is it safe to assume (from what I've gathered here) that a higher sump flow rate than the skimmer rate won't make a difference, BUT you wouldn't want a lesser sump flow rate than the skimmer rate...?

My NWB I believe will do around 500 gph, and my Eheim return pump will go upwards of 600... Would it be best to crank the pump to highest setting?

Sorry if this is redundant, quite a confusing hobby...! Thank you btw X.
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 08:27 PM   #164
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Yes...definitely not lower flow than the skimmer and what ever other components you have in the sump. Absolutely open that baby up all the way.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 09:25 PM   #165
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
Yes...definitely not lower flow than the skimmer and what ever other components you have in the sump. Absolutely open that baby up all the way.
Ok cool will do. And that will begin to make me think about my next add-on of a GFO reactor. Which chamber do you usually add it to? There will be a fuge in the middle, with the "in" and "return" section to its sides... I was considering the MJ1200 with the BRS single reactor... Would this pump with the Eheim Compact + 2000 be ok with a 500 gph skimmer?
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 09:37 PM   #166
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Isn't the mj1200 a little much for a GFO reactor? BTW, you can put that wherever you want.
I don't use them so I don't know, but was told just enough to tumble the surface.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 09:44 PM   #167
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
Isn't the mj1200 a little much for a GFO reactor? BTW, you can put that wherever you want.
I don't use them so I don't know, but was told just enough to tumble the surface.
That's just what BRS recommends for a pump, but it does seem excessive. What would be an appropriate flow rate for a tumble? Wouldn't it be closer to the 50 gph most likely? And the reason I'm asking where it could go is because I would
like to just place the whole reactor in the water, and was hoping if there was room in the first chamber next to the sump it could go there...
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 10:01 PM   #168
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
the 1200 isn't 1200gph..it's only 295 FYI.
I was told an mj400 was sufficient.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 10:11 PM   #169
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
the 1200 isn't 1200gph..it's only 295 FYI.
I was told an mj400 was sufficient.
Yea I'm aware it's not 1200 gph.. And cool on the 400, I'll look into it. Thanks again for your help with this round of questions... I feel like I'm actually making some progress on how I want to set it all up...
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 01:36 PM   #170
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
So I have 60 lbs of Aragamax Select sand, and had my LFS order another 30 lbs for me. They didn't order the Select, but ordered the Sugar sized. It doesn't appear that there is much of a size difference, but there definitely is a small difference. Question is, would it be ok to just mix this sand together, or should I return it and get the same size I have currently?
__________________

__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan, tank upgrade, upgrade

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.