Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-16-2008, 03:51 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Have you checked your ammonia level?
__________________

Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 06:37 PM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
If he was hungry your damsel and clown would probably be gone by now.
We definitely need some water parameters with a liquid test kit (for better results).
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 06:41 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 16
my nitrite was high apperantly my tester kit died.....i have done a 50% water change and still have high nitrite's, i guess they spiked during the tank swap, stirring up gravel and stuff. any ideas on a fast way to lower nitrite's other than full water change?? i put some purigen in my filter....my ph,amonia and solitity test fine just nitrite and nitrate's are high
__________________
tommygunzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 07:09 PM   #14
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
If you just moved the substrate from the old tank into the new tank and didn't rinse it or wash it, your tank is now going thru a cycle. If you have nitrites, you most likely have ammonia and that will cause the lion to gasp. The ammonia burns their gills.

I would do 20-30% water changes every 2-3 days until your nitrite is 0 and you nitrate no more than 20.
__________________

__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eat, lionfish, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with my volitan lionfish tommygunzz Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 09-16-2008 12:55 PM
Volitan Lionfish turboTSI Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 12-19-2004 08:49 PM
Volitan Lionfish not eating hitsnorth Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 0 08-12-2004 12:49 PM
Volitan Lionfish removal cj10488 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 14 04-23-2004 07:23 PM
My Lionfish wont eat. CountZero Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 11 12-02-2003 03:25 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.