Question from new Aquarium owner

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

smoray

Aquarium Advice Newbie
How strong should the water current be in the tank! I just put fish in on Saturday (starting with cherry barbs) and I put a betta in, we are waiting to add some Angel Fish in a couple of days. The poor betta is just being pushed around! The smaller fish seem used to it. I am brand new to Aquariums, my father in law gave his to me and set it up for me. Just wondering!

Thanks!

Welcome to the site!
I would post your question in the FW section.

Welcome aboard. As Scott said post your question in the FW section. More people will see it there.

Hello and welcome -- I am a newbie too and it took me a bit to understand how all this works -- The other posts were correct in telling you to post your problem in the Freshwater Forum - In case you don't know where that is (it took me a while to find it) Click on Forums it is located on the left about a quarter way down the page next to User CP and Articles - scroll down - past the saltwater forum until you reach the freshwater/brackish forums and post there --- You should also tell us what size tank you have and what equipment is running on it --- Welcome again :-D

Unlike saltwater a strong current isn't necessary for freshwater aquariums. Mostly you want enough current to move water around the aquarium so the filter(s) can turn the water over and filter out the suspended stuff. It also helps limit algae growth to some extent and helps move whatever makes it to the bottom around.