You would think being a veterinarian...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SoFla94

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone!!

You would think as a veterinarian I would know how to keep my fish alive...but not so much. To be honest, unless students took the aquatics courses and rotations (which I didn't since I "specialized" in other species) then out of the 4 years of veterinary school, maybe 2 days of lecture would be spent on fish. So, I'm here to learn!!

At our vet school graduation awards ceremony, my mom won a raffle. This entitled her to our table's center piece. Curiously enough, the center piece contained a betta fish! So, we took him on our 5 hour trip back home and Hilton (named after the hotel where the event was held) now lives in a 5 gallon tank. Since he was sort of an unplanned new addition to the family, his first living accomodations weren't ideal and I'm still trying to figure out how I never learned about cycling his new bigger tank until...well, tonight. Anyway, there are plenty of other things I haven't figured out, but I'll leave those questions to other threads.

One thing I do know about fish is that just as any other animal, their living space, if cared for properly, can be a large contributor to a great low-stress life. That's why a properly set up aquarium is essential. I'm trying to learn about this topic and this is a great community to learn from.

Thanks a lot!!

welcome. at least you can admit it. glad you are here to learn. ask away if you have any questions.

Slight detour: I am boggled that a vet school event had a live animal decoration, and that they gave a live animal as a "prize".