Eclipse 2 light broken, need replacement!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rusalka

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
My eclipse 2 system light broke. At first, one of the bulbs stopped working properly, then I noticed the power adapter had a crack, and recently I found it overheated and smelled burned (the crack appeared from overheating, apparently).
Marineland customer service offered me to send a LED light replacement and a penguin filter, I no way want these again – I just upgraded from them two months ago! Eclipse 2 is discontinued, this is the reason.

But I like its design so much, and the filter works perfectly!

I studied lighting options by marineland – their replacement fluorescent lights... all of similar size ones have only one 18" 15Watt light bulb, and Eclipse 2 has 2 of them. If even I could persuade marineland customer service to send me one of their fluorescent lighting fixtures, it's still two times less light.

The question is, if somebody had similar problem, how you solved it?
Is there a way to integrate two 18" lamps into Eclipse 2 hood (with a help of electrician or somebody knowledgeable) and some new base and cord?

Before there was for purchase Lamp Base Assembly, which gives the front portion with the starter button, ballast, and all other electrical components for the light (item number PR3033), but no more.
I'm really puzzled what I can ask as a replacement, or should I return the hood altogether. But I want to keep it so much!

Eclipse 2 Light Assembly

I agree the Eclipse System is great. But they are discontinued.
I have an Eclipse 1 System that I retro-fit the twin light assembly from an Eclipse 2 to have twin lamps instead of 1 lamp.
It is working fine, but the light assembly is not working properly. Only one lamp goes on each morning and I have to manually "fiddle" with the second bulb to get it to go on.