Heater Help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fishy123

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello everyone. I'm a newbie to this hobby. I've been buying things as I get extra money. My new stand came today, and I was excited, thinking that I could finally get things running, and realized I don't have a heater. I know nothing about them, and was hoping you guys could fill me in on what I needed, and what was out there, and what to look for, as I will probably pick one up this weekend. Locally we have a Petco and a Petsmart, that's about it.

I have a 40 gal tank,and plan on making it a freshwater tank, so any recommendations would be appreciated, thank you.

Hello everyone. I'm a newbie to this hobby. I've been buying things as I get extra money. My new stand came today, and I was excited, thinking that I could finally get things running, and realized I don't have a heater. I know nothing about them, and was hoping you guys could fill me in on what I needed, and what was out there, and what to look for, as I will probably pick one up this weekend. Locally we have a Petco and a Petsmart, that's about it.

I have a 40 gal tank,and plan on making it a freshwater tank, so any recommendations would be appreciated, thank you.

150w heater would work, but I like to have a bit of extra headroom, so in my 37g tall I opted for a 200w.

As for which one, I really like the Aqueon Pro series, black aluminum body and the setting control are numbers rather than just +/- marks. I have a 50w in a 8g and it's spot on temp wise.

Hi fish123,
Other than a tank & stand what do you have? That way we will be better able to help you with what you need. I buy all my equipment online. Depending on how much you buy, the shipping can be free. I also drive 45 min. & 3 towns up to buy my fish from an excellent FS, with very healthy stock.

Last edited by a moderator: