Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-24-2013, 10:39 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Brian_Nano12g's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,146
It's doesn't screw over it... it screws just to tighten up against it real close.
__________________

__________________
- [ADA 60P] - [ADA 60F] - [GLA 6g] - [26g] - [2.1g Cube]
Brian_Nano12g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 10:57 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aqualady40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Nano12g View Post
It's doesn't screw over it... it screws just to tighten up against it real close.
does it come up over it a little though?

also what about the water in line?
__________________

__________________
Current tanks: 55g/ 40B/ 20H/, 5g
If you always do what you've always done, you'll end with the same results
Aqualady40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 01:31 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Brian_Nano12g's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,146
Yeah i suppose it does go over a bit.. I just looked at mine.

The water in line will get pushed and travel out as pressure builds and there us no where else for it to go.
__________________
- [ADA 60P] - [ADA 60F] - [GLA 6g] - [26g] - [2.1g Cube]
Brian_Nano12g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 03:10 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aqualady40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Nano12g View Post
Yeah i suppose it does go over a bit.. I just looked at mine.

The water in line will get pushed and travel out as pressure builds and there us no where else for it to go.
Okay, well I don't know how much more patience a person can have...its been 4 weeks now with mixing and waiting, remixing and waiting, remixing and waiting, I have even changed to 2 liter bottle and name brand yeast and sugar and still I am waiting and waiting and waiting.....I even made sure there are no leaks...what do I do now
__________________
Current tanks: 55g/ 40B/ 20H/, 5g
If you always do what you've always done, you'll end with the same results
Aqualady40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 11:37 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aqualady40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,330
OMG!!!! I went and bought a mini fully submersible fliter to try as a diffuser and results are....drum roll..........Yayyyy it really worked, its working, its working, its working, yayyyy finally after 4 weeks of struggling to get it to diffuse....yes! yayyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!
My days of being a mad scientist is finally over..yayyyyyyy
__________________
Current tanks: 55g/ 40B/ 20H/, 5g
If you always do what you've always done, you'll end with the same results
Aqualady40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 11:51 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Brian_Nano12g's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,146
Congrats! Sorry to hear the Fluval diffuser didn't work. It might defective because i have two of them and they work (1 DIY system and 1 pressurized)...

Anyway, do you have a drop checker to make sure the diffuser is getting the co2 diffused in the water?
__________________
- [ADA 60P] - [ADA 60F] - [GLA 6g] - [26g] - [2.1g Cube]
Brian_Nano12g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 11:58 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aqualady40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian_Nano12g View Post
Congrats! Sorry to hear the Fluval diffuser didn't work. It might defective because i have two of them and they work (1 DIY system and 1 pressurized)...

Anyway, do you have a drop checker to make sure the diffuser is getting the co2 diffused in the water?
Are you speaking about the water bottle that is connected to the generator? If so right now I am getting 1 bps

Quick question, since I have diy co2 do I still need to dose EXCEL?
__________________
Current tanks: 55g/ 40B/ 20H/, 5g
If you always do what you've always done, you'll end with the same results
Aqualady40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 12:31 AM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Brian_Nano12g's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 6,146
No a drop checker is an indicator that you fill with a solution (that reacts to the pH in you water) and 4 dkH. It basically turns color to give you a visual indication of how much actual co2 is being diffused into your water column. It's a VERY useful tool and one that I highly recommend, especially in DIY co2. It starts off blue, as co2 is being diffused in the water, it starts to turn green. Green is good, and is letting you know that you have enough co2 in the water. Yellow means you have too much co2 and could potentially nuke your livestock.

Amazon.com: U.P. Aqua Co2 Indicator: Pet Supplies

Amazon.com: Fluval CO2 Indicator Kit: Pet Supplies

4 DKH Reference Solution for CO2 Drop Checker Ph | eBay

What size tank are you using this DIY CO2 system in? It doesn't hurt to use Excel when there's not enough co2 in the water. If you have a larger tank, Excel is good to supplement the DIY co2 (which might not be enough on its own).
__________________
- [ADA 60P] - [ADA 60F] - [GLA 6g] - [26g] - [2.1g Cube]
Brian_Nano12g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 06:57 AM   #29
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
foster53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,626
Congrats!! Glad to hear things are working for you finally. A drop checker is a good investment, or at least a co2 test kit. I still dose Excel, as the DIY don't supply quite enough co2. You will have happy plants now!!
__________________
foster53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 07:51 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aqualady40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,330
One other thing....when I see a drop in the water bottle, should the drops in the tank (diffuser) be in sync with it...basically if I have 1 bps in the bottle I should see co2 every sec in tank to?
__________________

__________________
Current tanks: 55g/ 40B/ 20H/, 5g
If you always do what you've always done, you'll end with the same results
Aqualady40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2, diy, diy co2

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.