Angelfish Breeding Setup- Decor?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sherlock

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, I have been keeping fish for five years so far but I'm new to these forums. I have kept and bred many species of fish (mostly basic ones) and now I want to try angels. I bought a mature, wild caught breeding pair a while back and they have been in a community 55 gallon tank with 15 cardinal tetras and a stray pygmy cory for about a year now. My question is how do you set up a breeding tank in regards to the substrate and decoration? I want a visually pleasing tank, as it is in my bedroom, however I don't want to complicate the process. (I'm also willing to set up a new tank for my tetras and cory.)

ps. my intention for breeding is to get the opportunity to raise my own angelfish from start to finish and I've already contacted my LFS to make sure they'll take any Angels I cannot care for.

Thanks, and i'd be interested in looking at some of your setups too!

Thanks for the quick reply! Do you have any ideas for plants in a tank that has the marineland led's? Not too much light at all.

When it comes to breeding wild fish, you want to recreate, as close as possible, their natural habitat including water chemistry, temperature fluctuations, rainy season and decor. Unfortunately, getting mature wild fish can make breeding a challenge as some will never breed in a tank. It's best to get smaller wild fish and let them grow up in the tank and hopefully pair off when that "urge" strikes them.