Sex of angelfish?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

grace130994

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
This is my first time with angelfish so I'm not sure whether they are old enough to tell yet... But my other concern was I know they pair off to breed... But if they are both male/female will they still get along and live together fine?

I researched online and I found lots of different ways to tell their sex but they all seemed to contradict each other... Please help :)

Attachments

• image-2934920908.jpg
    image-2934920908.jpg
    141.4 KB · Views: 104
  • image-1550853660.jpg
    image-1550853660.jpg
    146.2 KB · Views: 105
  • image-2307806568.jpg
    image-2307806568.jpg
    228.4 KB · Views: 103
There is not a reliable to way to tell them apart by looking at them. The only sure-fire way to know genders is to actually see them spawning. In theory, males get a bit of a hump on their forehead, but that characteristic is not totally reliable.
I know this is vague, but whether they get along or not is dependent on the individual fish. Generally speaking, 2 of the same gender should get along just fine. However, angels can be pretty feisty, so there are no guarantees. Don't worry about it unless you see nipped fins, missing scales, excessive hiding, or bullying.

Males are often larger than females but as mentioned, its not that reliable. If you grow out a batch from fry you may get a knack for it, but if shopping at a lfs it can be a crap shoot.

Males tend to become dominant (usually just one per small tank) as they get older, especially in the presence of a female.

Last edited:
Thank you! It helps to know if you can't really tell rather then me sitting for hours trying to work out their sex from characteristics etc :)

Sexing Angels