What do you do when you have too many babies?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kotick

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Both of my female guppies gave birth on the same day and I put the babies in the breeder net. Started out with about 35 babies and have now tapered down to 15. Seven are large enough to leave the breeder net but the rest are still in the net because they seem to be growing rather slowly. They all look like their mother too (yellow fins and tail with black spots).

My problem is that I only have a 20 gallon tank. Now I have a ton of fish. Is there anything I can do such as take them to a pet store or what have you rather than having to get another tank? Tanks get expensive. Has anyone else dealt with this?

I know I'm new to taking care of fish and breeding sounded like a good idea at the time but now I have to pay for my possible mistake.

Many petstores will give you some amount of store credit for fish you've bred, it can never hurt to ask them. Also, check to see if there are any local fish clubs in your area, you may find members there that are interested.

Now that you know what you know, livebearers reproduce like crazy, and it never stops. If you want to stick with them, and not have to keep dealing with babies popping up every few weeks, consider getting rid of the males or females if you really want to keep guppies.

My first livebearers were endlers. I started with 5 females and 4 males. In about 2 months I had over 100 fish. So, you should decide if you want that, or maybe there's other fish that are more suitable to you.

You could also put an ad on craigslist. Depending on whether you are against it or not, alot of people will get them to feed oscars and some other big fish.