10 Gal Cycling question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Justin83

Aquarium Advice Activist
Is it possible for the tank to cycle and completely miss it?? .. i mean i haven't been testing daily (hectic schedule and all) but its been 2 days since the last test and i never really had more than .25 ammonia and have not tested positive for Nitrites.. now i just tested and i have somewhere between 10 and 20 ppm (its so hard to tell the difference between the colors).. i have a API freshwater master kit .. and i even double checked every one to make sure i did it right.. and then i tested my tap water all the tests ended up wit the exact same results 0 ammo 0 nitrites 10-20 nitrates .. does it seem like it cycled .. what can i do to be sure.. add a few more fish??
I only have 2 fish in there at the moment one sword tail and a pineapple platy

Thanks in advance
~Justin~:thanks:

So you now have 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites, and 10-20 ppm nitrates?

If so, I think you're good. You have fish in there, even though just two small ones, but they are producing ammonia. If there's no ammonia in the water, and no nitrites, your bacteria colonies are established. Don't toss a bunch more fish in there at once and overwhelm them though.

whats odd is the tank has only been up for maybe 3 weeks

maybe like 2 fish this week end i seen some really cool florescent orange looking fish down at the LSF and I am gonna run down probably tomorrow to find out what they are and ill post back to see if they are compatible with my current fish /tank size

Justin83 said:
whats odd is the tank has only been up for maybe 3 weeks

maybe like 2 fish this week end i seen some really cool florescent orange looking fish down at the LSF and I am gonna run down probably tomorrow to find out what they are and ill post back to see if they are compatible with my current fish /tank size