13G Widescreen Nano Reef

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

raccioppi83

Aquarium Advice Freak
I originally posted this thread in the "Nano Reef" section... Due to the lack of activity in that section I decided to move it here.

So I have to decided to dip my toes in the ocean and take a stab at converting my 13G into a nano reef.

I have most of the equipment needed to kickstart the project. I have

- Refractometer
- power head
- 13G widescreen tank
- Instant Ocean salt
- Glass hood
- FluvalSea Marine and Reef 2.0 LED strip light
- Heater
- Thermometer
- Tank background

I need to get LR and LS to begin my cycle. As for stocking I am open to any suggestions! I am new to saltwater fish keeping so all the help will be extremely appreciated on this journey.

Sounds good so far. I'd skip the glass good though, it will inhibit gas exchange. As far as lighting what kind of corals do you want? That dictates the light.

Stocking your gonna be limited to about 2 small fish and then inverts/coral.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Wouldn't the glass hood prevent evaporation though? I only say this because I know as the water evaporates the water salinity will increase because the salt stays

I am thinking LPS corals or the hardier ones in general. I do want a CUC and I was only expecting to have 2/3 fish.

Still exploring fish possibilities since I don't know of many that would thrive in this size tank, suggestions?

+ 1 with bribo.
The problem with the lid is it holds in the co2 and thus lowers the pH.
This can become a big problem in any size tank.
I keep the back half of my marine tanks covered with glass but leave fronts off.

A little swing in SG is not the end.
Just top off every other day or so..

What are you going to be using for water???