20gal low-moderate lighting advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

brybell

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey, I am a newbie, and I got a aqueon 20 gal kit. So far ive already replaced the filter to an aqua clear 50.

I also want to replace the lighting, because the t8 15w is not gonna cut it.

I do not want to have to add C02, and would like to maintain low to moderate light plants.

Id like to spend less than $100, would LED be best? or a double t5?

I thought this may be good: Finnex 24" 1 x 36 Watt PC Fixture Includes Bulb | eBay

Or this: Finnex Ray II LED Aquarium Light 16 18 24 inch 7000K 10000K Actinic Planted | eBay

Please let me know your opinions. I am also unsure about how this will fit with the current hood I have. Can I somehow mount it where the light is now? The hood I have has the little flip up part in the front, the middle has a glass peice where the light sits etc.

I would like to be able to get the light and just put it on it without have to spend more for a new top or something.

thanks!! :thanks: :fish2:

That one and the ray 2 are pretty similar if I remember correctly the monster ray had wider angle LEDs fo better light spread and I think the par rating was slightly higher but I don't remember. I'll see if I can find where I read the comparison of the 2 and post a link for ya.

If you're specifically targeting lower light plants like anubias, java fern, java moss, and crypts you could just do a single bulb T5 such as: Amazon.com: Hagen Glo T5 Ho Linear Fluorescent Lighting System, Single, 24-Inch: Pet Supplies.