30 gal, planted, energetic tank set-up?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

taylorodw

Aquarium Advice FINatic
My goal is to have a 30 gal tank, heavily planted (I love how tanks with a lot of cover look) with driftwood and rocks.

I plan to have a school of at least 6 Tiger Barbs and haven't really decided much else as far as specific species - of fish or plants. I know I want energetic species.

I'm brand new to planting - I literally have no clue where to start. I'm going to check out books on the subject tomorrow. I know I'll need a soft substrate, and I'd prefer it be black.

What kind of gear will I need? I'm on a severe budget - I want to keep the price down while keeping my fish happy.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

The two cheap black substrates I'm thinking about are Turface and Aqua terra. From all I've heard they work just fine with plants without breaking the bank. A fine black gravel wouldn't be out of the question either.

A Craigslist dude is selling the following:

30 gallon long glass fish tank with glass top $25
Tetra whisper 60 power filter with extra refills $20
Hydor 200W heater $10

Would all of this be a good set-up? Is the filter worth $20 or should I just grab the tank and heater?

Please lemme know if you've got any advice as I should be calling the guy in about two hours.

I am quite excited to get a 30 gal tank up and running ASAP!

If it were me I wouldn't buy that filter. I would spend an extra $9 and for $29.99 get a AquaClear 50. That's just my personal preference. I run one on my 30g long and absolutely love it. For $10 I would just get that heater. Sounds like a good deal.

Thanks for the advice but after comparing features they seem to be pretty similar and this one is cheap. Plus the dude wanted to sell them together so he cut me a little better deal and threw in a light.