35 hex startup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Eggheadfish

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hi all,
Just came to document my 35 hex progress for myself really. This is my first build from scratch.
I picked up the tank and cleaned it 10/25
Decided on my plan: driftwood, live plants, sand, marbled hatchets, an angel, black neon tetras, and cories.
I'm about a week in
1) got java moss - floating in the tank
2) collected, scrubbed, boiled, and now soaking local hardwood
3) started up the filter with carbon to help filter out some tannins

Day 1:
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1415918502.781512.jpg

Day 2:
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1415918536.040587.jpg

Day 5:
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1415918557.324228.jpg

Day 6:
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1415918575.986618.jpg
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1415918602.599703.jpg

Looking good, one word of advise tho. I have a planted 20 Hex which I love but I have a hard time finding bulbs for it and bulbs that are brite enough. So with the stock hood I can only keep low to medium light plants. The best light to get would be some very high lights if you want a lot of medium-high light plants. but for moss and other low light plants the stock will be great.
Good Luck

Awesome! I see we have similar tastes- i have a 37 with marbled hatchets and black neons, and i had corys. I havent messed with angels though. I'm interested to see how that goes for you!

Sent from my iPod touch using Aquarium Advice

Hi all. Back with an update. All the wood save one piece have finally sunk. My java moss is growing really well and I started tying some to the wood. Whilst debating the wood placement, I heard dripping so I turned off the filter and found a puddle on the carpet behind the tank. O-ring on the aquaclear was cracked and snapped when I went to remove it. Looking for a replacement now.