5 Gallon Overrun by Thread/String Algae

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BettaNamedPino

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi! I'm new to you forums - thanks for having me! I'm looking for some advice for dealing with an epic thread/string algae problem in my tank. I've attached some photos to show the state of my tank for those of you who are able to diagnose. The problem started a couple months ago, with more fine strands of algae, but recently they seem to have evolved into something thicker.

My tank is about 9 months old now. It is a 5 gallon, Top Fin (PetSmart) tank with a built in filter compartment. I'm using the Top Fin brand carbon filters. The tank is overcrowded currently - it has a betta and 5 gold cloud minnows. My local shop suggested a betta with 3 minnows for a tank this size (looking back that seems like too much), but the minnows have bred and well... now there are more. I also have a golden mystery snail in there who is NOT doing well. I'm not sure if its health is related to the algae issue in my tank or not - I posted about that in the Fish Health forum. Oh, and there are some (I think) Malaysian Trumpet Snails which have found their way in on plants. The fish seem healthy to me, all things considered, but I know the amount of animals in a tank this small is a problem in itself and am working on getting a larger tank.