A couple assorted questions.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Doog

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Ok im new to the hobby, a few months in actually. At the moment I have a 2.5 betta setup with a few invert tank mates. My pride and joy at this point and wish to upgrade it a bit. I also plan to re-do my girlfriends plain jane cheese aquarium (blue gravel, a few minnows, etc). Before I mess with anything I have a few questions.

1) Ok first question: my nano. I wish to change the substrate from white gravel to something black or very dark brown. Preferably something that accomadates live plants well. I want a lawn on the floor of the aquarium and plenty others for my betta to sleep in and my inverts to hop around on. What substrate would you guys suggest and what plants. Also how would this effect my biological filtration? As a noob I didnt do fishless cycling so my poor betta has been through enough, I dont wish to throw any more harm his way. Im afraid the substrate change will push him over the edge.

as of now the tank parameters and specs are as follows.

amm-0
niti-0
nita->40

2.5 gallon standard
-neptune 25 watt heater
-whisper 1-3i with sponge over intake
-custom flourscent desk lamp, actual fixture casing suspended over water (13 watts...enough light?)

2) My girlfriend has a 10 gallon thats been sitting for awhile now with a few minnows in it. I want to overhaul it. Im not sure what plants to include but i wish to have a lawn and other of various live plants. Stocking it with a few platies and gourami's. Now the questions are what plants? What substrate? and most importantly the lighting. I looked under the strip and its two incandescent, will I be able to put two CFLs in the place of them or do I need to purchase another strip all together?

Also co2? im new to the whole plants thing.

Thanks all!