A newbie here with a bunch of questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

StarterFisherman

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all!

I just set up my son's 1st fish tank and I've never had a fish tank before. I would like to get some feedback on what I did and I have a bunch of questions.

What I did: I purchased a 10 gallon tank from PetSmart w/ the heater combo, along with 10 pounds of fluorescent colored gravel that my sone selected. I rinsed the tank and all the appliances. Filled it up, turned on the filter. After 30 minutes I turned on the heater. Then I added the sample that came with the tank, 10 ML API Stress Coat and 10 ML API Stress Zyme (was I supposed to add them now? Was I supposed to add them together?

What I am planning: this will be my son's "reward" to get fish to add, as well as decorations. I will be taking him on Saturday to get his first (2) fish, along with a few decorations suitable for the selected fish. I want to max out with only 8 fish total when all is said & done. Today, we looked at Tetras & Guppies. I would also like to add a sucker or catfish type fish and a crab. Can I do 10 animals in this tank? Are there any other beneficial "animals" that will coexist with the fish in this size tank that I should look at?

Questions:
1) can I replace the light bulbs w/ fluorescent bulbs?
2) do I need to add a decoration that supplies air to the tank? The filter does not create any bubbles
3) I need a brand recommendation on fish food, water tester, dechlorinator/stabilizer, bacteria supplement (do I need this)
4) does the filter need to run 24/7? If not, what is minimum running time?
5) is there a ratio for artificial plants vs fish quantity? Or is that purely aesthetics?
6) what is a gravel vacuum?
7) how do I get out of this? (kidding)