About to begin my cycle

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Adam_

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Alright, so here's the situation. I'm totally new to aquariums and have been researching them a lot to prepare for when I add fish. I have a 29gallon tank setup with a filter and heater. I don't have any lights yet because I plan on buying them when I buy the fish (I read you don't really need lights for cycling, plus I really don't have the money right now). I have my gravel and will be introducing some rocks and driftwood soon. once I have my basic setup ready I will begin a fishless cycle. BTW, no live plants.

My plan is to set everything up, turn it all on, dechlorinate my water, then begin adding ammonia daily to begin cycling. I also bought a master testing kit so I will be continually checking my levels.

I've been following much advice from this particular thread http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forum...guide-and-faq-to-fishless-cycling-148283.html so I'm pretty sure that up until this point I'm somewhat solid and ready to go. Hopefully I can find some old aquarium rocks, media, or decorations to help the cycle but that's not a guarantee yet.

Ok, now here's the curve-ball... I talked to a friend of mine who suggested I use this product called Seachum Stability. Now I've read up on it and It seems like it's commonly used with fish-in cycles. I'm wondering if adding Stability along with my daily ammonia will help speed up my fishless cycle? I'm curious if Stability is it's own bacteria or chemical that eliminates ammonia or is if it's a substance that adds helpful bacteria for my cycle. Any advice would help.

Stability is one of the bacteria-in-a-bottle products out there (there are a few).

Some people do use these types of products to help speed up fishless cycling.