Algae and Anarchy

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Blackwood

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm fairly new to planted tanks, so I'm a bit behind the learning curve.

This is what I have.

125 gallon tank
400w CF lights similar to http://www.vividaquariums.com/10Expand.asp?ProductCode=04-2159
except that mine are two bulbs each in two fixtures attached to the inside of the wooden canopy with reflectors. Both are white lights.
150-300 gallon wet/dry sump filter (yes, it's overfiltered. I'm ok with that). Similar to this http://www.petpromenade.com/images/750-78126.jpg

The overflow is at one end of the tank rather than the middle, with the output coming through the top of the outflow and heavily roiling the surface of the water pointed towards the front line of the tank. No airstone. I have a secondary powerhead at the other end of the tank on the back wall pointing towards the overflow to create a nice circular flow through out the tank.

I have a Co2 compressed air cannister injecting Co2 through a diffuser similar to this one http://www.dewinters.nl/images/zerst.JPG

I've recently gotten a big problem with Black Beard Algae (yes, I'm sure that's what it is) and green fuzz algae. The fuzz algae covers everything, glass, plant leaves, overflow, etc and the BBA is on the driftwood, plants leaves and leaf edges, heater, powerhead, etc...

I know my Phospates are high while my Nitrate is essentially zero. Reading through here I know this is bad and will be address as soon as my local AQ shop gets me some Potassium Nitrate (KN03?).

I have a basic idea of what the imbalance is, but know next to nothing about general planted tank maintenance and balance.

In a 125 gallon tank, what should my Nitrate, PH, Phosphate, etc be?

What's a good but not horribly expensive test kit to use for everything?