Ammonia stumped! Do these results make sense?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

afishoutofh2o

Aquarium Advice Regular
I am very new to this aquarium stuff and having a lot of trouble understanding cycling in my first tank. :?

Unfortunately my ignorance has cost 5 baby fantails their lives. :cry: (all due to overcrowding and ammonia poisoning)

However, I am determined to learn from my mistakes and give the remaining 2 tykes a chance.

This is our 19th day and to control the ammonia in the tank I am doing the following:

1) Using Seachem Prime to condition my tap water.
2) Changing 20% of the water daily (without disturbing the substrate too much)
3) Inserted an Aquaclear Ammonia Remover (out of desperation as the fish were dying!)
4) Testing the water daily

This is where I have a problem.
Using Tetratest Laborett NH3/NH4 3-step test the ammonia levels have been between 0.25 - 1.5 mg/L.
The Aquarium pharmaceuticals Freshwater Ammonia test (Nessler) measure 0 ppm.
What does this mean?
Have I screwed up the start of my aquariums cycle by adding the Aquaclear Ammonia Remover?

Your knowledgable help/suggestions are most welcome! :n00b:

I have not ever used Aquaclear Ammonia remover so I am not sure how it will affect your cycle, but I have read that using those products can make your test numbers meaningless, as it somehow affects the tests ability to actually measure the true levels of ammonia in the water.

I'll try and give some limited insight into your situation. I don't generally "cycle" with fish and am unaccustomed to some things you used, but I'll try and get a "feel" of your situation for more abled people to chime in.