Bacteria bloom. Is my cycle stalled?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sir Sammy

Aquarium Advice Newbie
New tank cloudy for 2 weeks. Ammonia won’t go down. Is my cycle stalled?

Hello everyone,
I’m relatively new to this hobby but I’ve been trying my best to do a lot of research.

I’m on Day 36 (I’ve been documenting almost every day) and everything just seems to not be moving forward.

I read on many forums that TSS works fishless so I decided to try it. I have a 20 gal for my axolotl (rescued; currently in quarantine tub). I dechlorinated tap, had it sit for 26 hrs, then started with up to 2ppm Pure Ammonia and a little over half bottle of the 250 mL Tetra SafeStart. In the beginning, all seemed pretty good as Nitrate was showing up fast, and I hadn’t seen any signs of Nitrite. I let Ammonia fall before adding back up. I’ve been religiously checking water parameters and some days it lowers, others it’s higher even without dosing.

Water params usually read:
pH 7.4-7.7 (stable)
Ammonia 2-5
Nitrite 0 (consistently 0; have never seen any nitrite yet)
Nitrate 5-10

Ammonia started building up without me adding any form of Ammonia to the tank. Eventually it got to the point I thought that maybe Tetra couldn’t handle it, and I was advised not to do water changes. On day 23, I opted to using Microbe Lift (Nite-Out II), and the next day the water became really cloudy. I understand that blooms are normal during cycling, but I’d like to mention that my concern is that it’s been about 2 weeks like this) Ammonia lowered from 4 to 3 after a day, but then came back up and has been consistently 4ppm... I try lowering this from time to time w WC but it goes back up.

I’m using Aqueon filter cartridges along with some cut up sponges (both airy and dense).