Beginner - Please Help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pitty24

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone..happy to have joined a forum where i can get all the knowledge i will need to start and maintain a beautiful and healthy aquarium.As stated i am a noob...lol.Looking for any and all advice to start up a tank preferably a 55gL and nothing smaller than a 29gL so lets start from there.Cycling,water changes,filters,lighting,fish,plants etc.Wanna know anything and everything.Ive been doing research but wanna get info from experienced aquarist like yourselves.Will continue researching aswell.Have many questions with hope you can all help aid me in. Really interested more in a planted/aquascape type tank with tropical fish but open to any suggestions as money is an issue but will always look for deals.I appreciate everyone taking the time to read this and to help me out it means alot :thanks:

The best is to read before you buy. I recommand you go with a 29g, or you'll fast want to upgrade the 15g. It's easier to deal with mistakes, dosing, etc.

A little low tech 10g is always good for QT before introducing fishs to the tank.

Cycling: Read on the subject. For a first tank, I recommand fishless cycling with ammonia source.

Filtration: Depends on the planned stocking and the total water volume.
Filtration type: depends if you plan plants or not. Unplanted tanks are best with HOB.

Lighting power: Depends if you plan planted tank or not.
Lighting time (photoperiod): Depends on the light power and type.

Fishs: You must choose fishs that won't fight together, there's a lot of builds you can do. Some prefer lot of schooling fishs, some prefer 1 or 2 bigger fishs. Nano fishs are fun as you can keep them with shrimps.

Temperature: Depends on the fishs type you choose

PH/KH: Try to choose fishs that fit the tap PH/KH.