Bristlenose Plecostomus Profile

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
What actual species is being discussed / described? There are a few L numbered species that get called "bristlenose". The majority in the hobby are selectively bred hybrids.

I have been keeping Bristlenose Plecos for just over 3 years now and have had no trouble with them, they are an extremely hardy fish and don't need much to live, just some driftwood or bogwood for their digestive system and a small amount of food.

They are mainly nocturnal fish and usually only come out to feed at night

As for tank size, I have had 5 almost fully grown (largest is 11cm [about 4.5 inches] smallest is 8cm[about 3.2 inches]) in an 80L (20 gallon) aquarium since they were only about 2 inches without any losses or major problems. In the last month I moved the 2 largest BN Plecs into a 30L (7.5 gallon) aquarium with plenty of driftwood and they are quite happy there.

All I would recommend with keeping Bristlenose Plecos is a good filtration system and maybe an airstone.

Another interesting thing about BN Plecs is that if oxygenation is low in the aquarium, they can swim up to the surface, grab a mouthful of air and digest it, and via this method they will acquire oxygen as their intestinal system absorbs oxygen into the bloodstream.

And apparently they are easy to breed, which is what I intend to do within the next month, when I finally get my custom built 145L (38 gallon) tank.
I know 38 gallons doesn't seem like much, but all that BN Plecs require to breed is a relatively large floor area. The reason my new tank is only 38 gallons is because it is fairly shallow (15 inches)