can I add cichlids?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lscotty

Aquarium Advice Regular
So now the wife wants cichlids in our tank. I'm still new to all this and not sure if cichlids would work out with my current setup or stock.

The tank
140g tank 4' long 30" deep 18" wide. Ive got 2 canister filters, a fluval 306 and a cascade 1500. One has a spraybar and the other the duckbill looking thing. I also have 2 koralia nano 425s. One on the back right and one on the front left. Good water movement with stronger flow on the right and slower on the left. Has a decent amount of hiding places and im not against adding more if needed. Can post a pic here if needed

Water
Consistently 78 degrees. Ph 7.8. not sure of exact hardness but lfs said it was a little high. Ammonia nitrates and nitrites all 0. I do 25% PWC twice a week.

Stock
4 clown loaches
4 peppered corys
5 small bala sharks
1 highfin spotted pleco.
The pleco is the biggest one at about 3" the balas and clowns are around 2" and the corys around 1"

Would cichlids be safe to add? If so should I do African, south american or what? And how many would be good I know some fish prefer a certain numberto be comfortable. Or should I not even add any cichlids? If not any recommendations on something colorful?

Thanks for any input. And if I left out any information you need let me know.

I'd keep the clown loaches and the spotted pleco and add peacocks or mbunas it'll look good and colorful and the tank is big bring up ph to 8.0 and temp to 80 and your good send pics of tank I know it's good in size 55 gallon is the min that's what I'm running

I would focus on getting the tank cycled first.

2nd dont mess aroumd with changing your ph unless you really know what your doing. A stable ph is better then a constantly changing ph no matter what the fish needs