Can You Help Me Decipher My Water Test Results?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jinkel

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, all! I'm a huge newbie, and am crazy happy to have found this forum!

Tank Info:
20 gallon, with a Marineland Penguin 150 Bio-Wheel filter.

Fish Info:
2 Arondas
1 Moor

Now before we start, I'd like to say that I'm a newbie (see above), and was stupid enough to take the LFS employee's word - that three goldfish would be okay in the 20 gallon tank. After doing my research, I can see that is CLEARLY not the case - - and am saving up for a 50 gallon (the hubs thinks I've gone off the deep end of the tank, so to speak. ;)).

Also, because I'm an impetuous fish dork, I did not cycle my tank before I came home with my adorable little buddies. I've had them for 7 days, and in these last 7 days, with each tidbit of research I have absorbed an accompanying "DOH!" moment has taken place. :dope:

So. Swearing to myself I will NEVER jump into something so foolishly again, here I am, educating myself as best I can with the help of all of you. :D

Which brings me to today. I did a water test today with the API Master Freshwater Test Kit. Here are the results:

pH: 7.6
hi-range pH: 7.4
Ammonia: 4.0 ppm
Nitrite: 0 ppm
Nitrate: 5 ppm

Now the deciphering. Are these good, or bad? What would you advise me to do?

Also, I picked up another Marineland/Penguin Bio-Wheel filter (this one is the 100) today. Should I put that bad boy in the tank along with the 150, or would you recommend against it?

Additionally today, I put in an airstone. Should I keep that in there, or would my little guys be happier without it?

GAH! I think I'm done babbling for now. *grin* Thanks so much for your help, all! Clearly I need it. LOL