Can't Get Rid of Algae Blooms/Diatoms!! HELP!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

janky

Aquarium Advice Freak
I have a couple of tanks that are in sunlight and can't be moved (our apartment faces over the water on a high-rise with huge windows). I think this is why we're constantly getting brown diatoms on the walls...

I also have a tank in the kitchen that's a planted 10 g. It keeps getting green water (algae blooms) and I'm not sure what to do with it.
Apparently I'm not very good with planted tanks because this thing kills any fish I put in it (yet snail and shrimp keep having offspring) and always turns green in a week or two.

I don't over feed the tanks - the 10g in the kitchen I feed a tiny tiny chunk of algae wafer once or twice a week for the shrimps. I have a coralife t5 HO bulb resting on top of the tank (no fixture or place to "hang" it) but I only keep it on about 8-10 hours a day.

I've tried the blanket/lights out method for 3 days and did a huge WC after, which worked for a couple days, but then it's right back to blooming green water or brown diatoms all over the walls!

Can anyone clue me in to what I'm doing wrong?!? This is really a nuisance!!
:banghead:

tbh, I've only heard that name. I have no clue what they do.
Will these go away if I just keep scrubbing the glass and doing heavy WC's??

janky said:
tbh, I've only heard that name. I have no clue what they do.
Will these go away if I just keep scrubbing the glass and doing heavy WC's??

I have also currently been dealing with a algae bloom, I have done black outs, I have also tried the large water changes. It stayed clear for 3 days then turned green again. I recently have a blackout, so far the water has remained clear. Although if that didn't work I would had went to buy a UV filter. Ive read that they will clear the water but I'm no expert.
Hope this helps