Cascade 300 Filter to big for 29g??/PH problem

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SpringlakeTank

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello! I am pretty new to owning and aquarium. My father is pretty much who I usually go to for most of my advise, (he has 150g tank, been at it off and on for years)

Well I have a 29 gallon fresh water tank with Guppies, mullies, the typical starter fish, well I have a Cascade 300 hanging flteration system on it. Its a great system however I am afraid its to big for my tank, because I have lost a few fish that stuck to its tube. At first I thought they were sick and weak so they got stuck because of that, until today when one of my bigger mollies go caught on it, and I thought it was dead, so I did the normal and shut off the filter so I can get it off the tube and it swam away, really beat up but swam away. I dont think he is going to make it, but he was one of the stronger mollies of the group and it made me wonder what I can do to keep this from happening.... It is a great system but is htere a way to prevent my fish from getting their life SUCKED out of them....

Also I have really high PH levels, have always had high PH/Hard water problems, I tried water changes and these tablets that claim to maintain the PH levels however its not working, (tetra correct ph 7.0 tablets).

Also there is a slight stessful level of nitrite levels going on also. Things that I have tried to get this down was also Tetra but it ws AmmoniaSafe. I put the recommended out in the tank when doing the water change and it still is showing up as stressful with my test.

Products I have used in my water:
Start Zyme, Tetra AmmoniaSafe, API Stress Coat, API Aquarium Salt, Intant DeCHLOR......

The water is kinda cloudy, not bad you can see the pic and see its just a little hazzy.