Changing Filter

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LordMatthew34

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I've been browsing these forums for a few months now and it's inspired me to start taking better care of my fish tank. I have a 30 gallon with 2 fancy gold fish, 1 female guppy, 1 kory, and 1 pleco. I think it's time to change my filters (had the tank for about 3 years now and haven't done that yet). I don't know what kind of filtration system that I have (as I bought the setup used), but it's got two spinning wheels on it, and the filters inside are hard plastic and full of stuff. I'm assuming they are carbon. I've been reading on here that carbon isn't always the best option, so I matched the size to some penguin blue filter pads.

Should I replace one filter at a time to allow the beneficial bacterias to build up, or should I do both at the same time and add some beneficial bacteria to the setup every day? I'm kind of new to this whole thing, but starting to get the hang of it. I have a fish store about 2 miles away from my house, and they've been doing free water samples for me. My Nitrates were pretty high, but they've come down since doing a 1/2 water change and gravel vac yesterday. I'm thinking it's about time to change out those filters. Looking for any helpful advice! There are fish in there and all of them have been in there for over 2 years with exception of the pleco that has only been in there for a few days. He's alive and well though, and doing a very fine job of cleaning glass. I rescued him from a friends tank that will be coming my way, but i wont be setting up for a little bit.

Thanks,

Matt