Cichlid food

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ashifflett89

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone, I was wondering if cichlids need special food or are regular tropical fish flakes good for them? I just got 2 African cichlid babies and they are getting along with my two sword tails, cat fish and pleco. I have had the cichlids for over a week and I'm happy to see the fish are getting along. I have read that other people had swordtails with cichlids so I tried it out with just one and then added the second and I have yet to see any of them pick on each other :) but my question is that I am new in owning cichlids and wanted to know if I hold be feeding them anything different.

Thanks!

Depending on the species and lake they are from dont feed them too much protein. A food with 40% protein or lower is recomended. If they get too much protein they can get bloat.

I feed mine lots of fresh veggies. Cucumber, zucchini, I freeze romaine and will clip a leaf to the inside. They really love it :)

I will def check to see how much protein is in the flakes I have already. That's interesting they love veggies lol never would've thought of that. So pretty much as long as I don't have a food over 40 protein I'm good to go. Thank you!

Ashifflett89 said:
I will def check to see how much protein is in the flakes I have already. That's interesting they love veggies lol never would've thought of that. So pretty much as long as I don't have a food over 40 protein I'm good to go. Thank you!

My Africans LOVE cucumber more than n e thing in the world lol the only thing left after I give it to them is the green rind lol

Some pics of them enjoying veggies :)

Attachments

• ForumRunner_20120327_121249.jpg
    ForumRunner_20120327_121249.jpg
    202.3 KB · Views: 85
  • ForumRunner_20120327_121503.jpg
    ForumRunner_20120327_121503.jpg