Cloudy water / completing the cycle...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Josh Jennings

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have a 60 gal tall aquarium fully stocked too quickly thanks to the wonderful folk at Petsmart. Y'all have helped me tons already with trying to get things fixed. I haven't lost any fish in 4 weeks and my numbers are as follows...

pH - 7.2
Ammonia - .5ppm
Nitrite - 0 ppm
Nitrate - 5.0 ppm

I use a master test kit and do bi-weekly 40% water changes. I have been unable to get my tank cycled.

Ok. New question??? I was told that I should "fast my tank" as in, not feed my fish for one or two days in order to allow my BB to get a jump start and thus clear up my water and help it complete the cycle. Any truth to this???

Im a newbie also... and take my advice with a grain of salt, but from your water parameters things look like your cycled or very close to being completly cycled. the Ammonia isn't too bad and you have zero Trites and 5.0 Trates which from my reading on here tells me you already have a good amount of beneficial bacteria in the tank. Also, I've heard if you use Seachems Prime you could have a slightly elevated ammonia level but it is most likely the non-toxic form of that ammonium. Again.. I'd wait for more advice from the more seasoned folks on this site.

What filter system you use? As i was told from a expert of these fourms my gph was too low. I got another filter and sure enough my water looks crystal clear

I have a Hagen Aqua Clear Power Filter 110 Gallons for my 60 gallon tank. It has a sponge brick, then a carbon pouch which I change monthly, and then a bag of coral looking pieces which I'm guessing is where the BB grow.