Clown breathing heavy...help?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

naterq

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi there. First off, I'm a complete noob. 20 gallon reef tank is my first SW tank. Have done my best to follow instructions from local aquarium shop....

20 lbs of live rock. 30 lbs live sand. cycled tank for 2-3 weeks before adding fish/inverts/corals. filter is a "skilter" model. seems to be doing it's thing.

population:
1 orange clown
1 black clown
4 small corals
5 blue leg hermits
2 red leg hermits
2 mexican grazer snails
5 turbo snails

using Tetratest Laborett liquid test kit...
ph - 8.3
ammonia - 0
NO2 - 0.3
SG - 1.022 (coralife hydrometer)
temp - 79

everything seems in the range I think based on the what the test kit says, but....

the black clown has been breathing heavy, mouth hanging open all the time. earlier this evening he looked even worse. sort of listing to the side.

any advice would be very very welcome.

Just taking a shot in the dark here, but I'd do a 30% water change a couple times a day. Your NO2 (nitrites) should be 0.0 if your tank was ready for fish. Any levels of nitrites indicate that your biological filtration isn't working right. It could be you either added too many fish too quick (definitely possible with a 20g), or you didn't cycle to start with. When you cycled, did you see the ammonia go up, come down, and eventually drop to zero? If not... then you didn't cycle.

Seems like you should be showing some ammonia levels, as it kind of sounds like ammonia poisoning. But water changes never hurt when you're not sure what's up.

Sorry you have to come to AquariumAdvice needing immediate help, but welcome.

How long have the fish been in there?

Thanks very much for your reply.