Co2 setups

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sk3lly

Aquarium Advice Addict
Looking to do a co2 setup in my tank. Tank is 24gallons and heavily planted. I would like to go the fluval co2 88 cartridge route, but id like to buy a regulator with a solenoid, a nicer bubble counter and diffuser. Does anybody know if the fluval cartridges are threaded and if so what size? Im a plumber so i can make it work as long as its threaded. Im in the uk by the way
Thanks

I am not sure about the fluval setup but I do want to suggest that you look into a real co2 tank if this is for long-term. You will end up spending way more than is necessary with those small cartridges. You can get a 5lb tank for around $60 dollars on amazon and it will last you months with only around $20 for a refill. It seems like the easiest route as a beginner but the actual tanks are not that complicated to set up as they seem.
With the actual tank you will also need co2 resistant tubing.

Those co2 packs like the fluval are better used for a temporary solution.

I am not sure about the fluval setup but I do want to suggest that you look into a real co2 tank if this is for long-term. You will end up spending way more than is necessary with those small cartridges. You can get a 5lb tank for around $60 dollars on amazon and it will last you months with only around $20 for a refill. It seems like the easiest route as a beginner but the actual tanks are not that complicated to set up as they seem. With the actual tank you will also need co2 resistant tubing. Bubble counter, diffuser, and a regulator. The only real expensive item on the list is the regulator. Those co2 packs like the fluval are better used for a temporary solution.