College fish life

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AssassinV

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello, I currently have a 3 gallon tank. Yes, I know that's not much at all, however, I'm a full time college student and I'll be living in a small apartment when I go back up to college in a few months. I just want to make sure I'm doing everything right to keep my fish as happy as possible.

I have two GloFish and a Plecostomus algae eater. Before this I had a couple cherry barbs. I loved those fish so much. I would love to get more one day. What is the best way to transport them to college? Before, I took all the tank toys out and took out most the water and they sat on the floor of my car in the passenger seat in an opened box. They had done that (the cherry barbs) several times and handled that very well. Is there a better way to do this? I'm terrified that I'm going to stress them out by doing this.

Also, someday I wish to set up a real tank. I am looking for books about tank maintenance so I will be sure to keep it properly and insure healthy fish. However, until then, I do want to ask a few questions. What exactly does "cycling" a tank consist of? How many fish per gallon is suggested? And if you could offer any additional advice, I would love to learn more.

You are also more than welcome to offer advice for my current tank. I need to have a look at the name of the filter and more specifics. That is something I would also like advice on, what should I know of the specifics of my tank, and how do I go about acquiring this information?

Thank you kindly and I cannot wait to hear from you all :)

v