confused newbie!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

snickers450

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
i am a novice when it comes to this hobby..i am a bit confuse when i went to the pet store..i saw a SEA SALT and a REEF SALT..also, i saw a LIVE SAND and REEF SAND..what are the difference..i am planning on putting a 75 gallon fowlr but eventually be transforming it into a reef aqaurium..what are my options that you guys can give me..TIA..

Live sand and reef sand are the same thing except reef sand doesnt have any bacteria. You can seed it with live rock. It doesnt matter what you get. Sea salt and reef salt will both work too. Good Luck!!! Also, remember to only stock for the reef tank because you will do that eventually. GL!!!!!!

right, and the amount of bacteria in a sealed bag of sand sitting on a shelf in a pet store for who knows how long is debatable. i would use the dry sand (thoroughly rinsed before adding to the tank so to remove any dust).
i like to use buckets of salt labeled "reef grade" or "reef salt" because they are supposed to be closer to natural sea water. while no salt mix is consistent due to settling, i have found this to be true, for the most part.
would i use a reef grade salt for a fowlr? nope. instant ocean would be my choice until i was considering adding corals.

I'd agree with the above. I started out with regular instant ocean and upped to reef salt after I started filling the tank with corals.

I have used regular aragonite sand, crushed coral, pool filter sand and once time "live" in a bag sand. I prefer the pool filter sand myself. I only got the live sand cause it was the color I really wanted not for any benefits that they say comes with it. I mean really, how live can sand be in a bag in a store on a shelf for who knows how long? And the price is expensive in my opinion.