Contradicting LFS

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

erickC.

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm new to the fish game so I rely heavily on my LFS. Where I bought my first cichlids told me the fish I was getting were from Lake Victoria (a Yellow Lab. & demosani) and to stick to those fish exclusively because of their aggression. When I went back for more I bought a bumble bee and two orange zebras. All purchased from the "Lake Victoria" tanks. I was adding a bunch of new rocks to my tank so I decided it was a chance to add new fish also. I was looking at 2 cobalts and 2 acei but I asked what lake they came from because I was told by the first LFS not to mix. They told me Malawi and asked what kind I had. I told him and he said they were also Malawi. I was tired of asking for advise so I bought them anyway and they have all been living in my 55gal happily ever after. Just for piece of mind....which store was right and does it all really matter?

IMO in a 55 gal, you should keep the Labs, Demasoni, and maybe the red zebras. You can do 10 labs and 10 dems. Or 5 Labs, 5 zebras, 10 dems. Over filter like crazy. Use rocks for hiding spots and no plants. Take the Bumble bee back. BTW your fish are all malawi. Also you need to start reading like crazy here and everywhere. Is your tank cycled?

Does it matter? Yes and No. Its not typically suggested to cross lakes bacause of behavior and water chemistry preferences. Some experienced cichlid keepers do cross lakes succesfully, but they have experience to work from.
Labs are indeed from Malawi as are demasoni.
It sounds like you have quite a bit going on in there right now, so I hope it works out for you. I do not know a ton about those particular breeds though, but I have been advised to only stock about 2-3 rift lake species in a 55g tank due to size constraints and possible aggression.