Cycling 55 gal tank (one week old)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

limojica

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi,

I am very new to this. I would like to know if I can add anything to my filter to reduce the nitrites? I've noticed "media" or pouches of nitriteZorb that state it can reduce ammonia and nitrites. Sorry spelling :( Can I use this in my 305 Fluval filter? I currently have two African cichlids in there and may need to add another fish Blood Parrot 4-5 inches because my Tilapia 4 inches has started to fight with him. I currently have nine fish including these two (and seven african's) in a 29 gal 7 week old tank. I don't want to add too many fish to the 55 gal until it's ready but this may be necessary sooner than later. Not sure. Please advise. Thanks

I have lots of hiding places in both tanks.

i know aqua clear makes amonia/nitrite remover for their filters. i'm not sure about fluval. but my suggestion would be water changes...water changes...and can i say one more time water changes :D

oh what are your parameters at right now? you shouldnt have any fish in the tank if it's still cycling. if you look up HN1, he has a thread about cycling with fish. (i tried posting the link but it didnt work)

Rather than buying stuff to get rid of it, just do water changes. Get a good liquid test kit so you are sure of the readings and do water changes accordingly. Keep ammonia and nitrites below 0.25ppm and everyone will be happy! :)

OK, got the book "Freshwater Aquariums for Dummies" and it strongly talks about water changes. Also got advice about water changes and have been doing it however the fish store keeps telling me not to? Don't get it :) but I will keep doing what I am doing by changing the water and I'll get the liquid test kits. Using the strips now (I know they aren't reliable I've heard). Great, thanks all.