cycling confusion

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

holimoli23

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all,

I have been cycling and following the links on this website to a tee. It has seemed like I was on pace to have a relatively quick cycle but a couple things has me confused.

First, I have a api master kit at my nitrate seems erratic at times. Again, I following instructions to a tee and every once in a while the level isn't what I expected. Two days ago I did back to back readings and there was a 40 ppm difference!

My tank is eating ammonia like a champ! It's taking down 4-5 ppm in 18 hours! My nitrate has seemed to rise good (despite the few erratic readings here and there) but my nitrite is sky high. I did a 50% pwc two days ago and two of them today. The nitrate is still 30-40 and the nitrite is still very bright purple.

The ph has been dropping little by little but it had a large swing last night. My water changes has restored it to the level of my tap (along with ammonia dose I'm sure) I feel like I'm near the end and I thought I did enough research but I'm unsure of what to do. Maybe a 90% pwc?

Please help! I want fish and I want them NOW!

HOw long have you had nitrite?

If you did a water change last night and the PH is still holding then no need for another water change tonight. What is your normal PH and what did it drop to?

The nitrate tests can be finicky. YOu want to shake both bottles (and #2 for 30 seconds) and bang them on a hard surface a few times; the second bottle has a reagent powder that can get clumped and cause false readings. Also be sure you shake the heck out of the tube for the full 60 seconds and then wait 5 minutes for the reading.

HOw long have you had nitrite?