Cycling tank already at all 0’s?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

blueishplains

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello! I am completely new to all of this. Yesterday, well two days ago at the time of writing this I tested my tap water and ammonia, nitrates, and nitrites were all at 0. I have a dechlorinator and seachem stability, but I’m so confused.

I have no idea how to cycle from here, other people I’ve asked suggested I cycle still but do I continue like normal? I thought all 3 of those being at 0 was perfect lol My PH is also at 7 if that adds anything. Ty in advance because I am very confused ?

I may be overlooking something as well, which would sound like me. I am by no means against being corrected because I want to learn!

Attachments

• A0600A2E-E81D-40A7-B6A1-BBABFC6D0EE4.jpg
    A0600A2E-E81D-40A7-B6A1-BBABFC6D0EE4.jpg
    162.2 KB · Views: 20
All you are doing is testing tap water with water conditioner in it. Of course all your water parameters will show 0. Let it sit another 3 months and thats all you will see.

For water to show anything it needs to have some waste go in the tank. Either fish waste from adding fish or ammonia if you are doing a fishless cycle.

It doesnt sound like you know anything about the nitrogen cycle or what cycling a tank is. Ill post something about the nitrogen cycle and the basics on methods of cycling a tank. Decide how you want to cycle, either get some fish and do a fish in cycle or get some ammonium chloride and do a fishless cycle.

The nitrogen cycle is the natural processes that go on in your tank that convert ammonia into less harmful substances.