Deep SAnd Bed?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

drillsar

Aquarium Advice Activist
Im really confused on this, I researched this and still confused.

I understand that you need between 4-6 inches of Sand

Now some people say not to use borrowing creatures (nassarius snails, cucumbers, brittle stars)

So whats the proper procedure on getting a good DSB? I have a 55gal by the way..

I heard also to get a detrivore kit from inland aquatics are they worth it?

There are many conflicting opinions on the DSB. The way I understand it is, the true DSB is 5" and is old school. Apparently it caused more problems than it helped. I believe the standard for a DSB now is 3". Mine is 3" and that's plenty deep enough for nassarius to burrow down into. I have no experience with cucumbers so I can't comment on them. Brittles aren't effected by a sand bed either way but the sand sifting star is. The issue with this star isn't so much depth as it is fauna. It needs a tank big enough, with enough sand to support it's constantly feeding nature.
There are shallow sand beds as well and this is what I have in my seahorse tank. This is low maintenance and I just give it a quick stir from time to time when I do water changes.

you should stay away from sand sifting stars though corect for a dsb?

Personally, I would say yes. They have a dismal survival record unless it's a very very large system. Not something the typical hobbiest would have. (Except for Brenden and even then, I'd be hesitant to try one)

The way I understand it is, the true DSB is 5" and is old school. Apparently it caused more problems than it helped.
Cindy, what do base this on?
I have not seen anything to contradict a DSB being a minimum of 3" and generally recommended at 4"-6".