Demasoni/Yellow Lab tank for beginner

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mjdodson05

Aquarium Advice Activist
I'm new to cichlids but not new to keeping fish. I've kept freshwater and brackish tanks for over the past 6 years. I've decided to turn my 55 gal tank into mbuna tank, specifically Demasoni and Yellow Labs... I was totally ready to order my fish this week, as I have already installed extra filtration, I have scaped it with lots of slate type rocks with dozens of caves and hiding places, and my tank is already cycled, as it has had fish in it for the past 5 or 6 years..lol.. I was going to place my order this week for 12 juvenile 1" Demasoni....and 8 juvenile 1.5" yellow labs. I feel I am ready. Some cichlid "experts" (lol) on a different cichlid forum are trying to discourage me from ordering Demasoni since I am a beginner...so I am trying to get advice from other ppl that's kept this particular set up....