Didn't cycle need help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Annaforevermore

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi I'm extremely new to this and need some advice. I'm incredibly impulse and just jumped right in without doing much research. I got a 5 gallon tank and started with just a betta and then quickly added 5 Molly's, 3 ghost shrimp, a Kuhli loach, pleco and a snail. After doing so much research I realized how stupid I was. I never cycled my tank and just kept adding to the tank not knowing better. I know I need to definitely upgrade to a bigger tank. I've added a second filter to try and help while they are all still in the 5 gallon, but I'm having trouble with the ammonia levels since I never cycled the tank. Any advice on this issue or things I should know are greatly appreciated (Since i still am a bit confused on what everything I need to know is and how to care for my new babies as the last thing I want is for themto suffer or worse die). Thank you I really do appreciate it!

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

Having 2 filters won't help the tank cycle faster. The beneficial filter bacteria grows to the level needed to keep ammonia and nitrite at 0ppm. You can have as many filters as you like but there will only be a certain amount of filter bacteria in the system.

The easiest way to control ammonia or nitrite is to reduce feeding and do big water changes.
Reduce feeding to once every second day.

Do a 75% water change and gravel clean the substrate any day you have an ammonia or nitrite reading above 0ppm, or a nitrate reading above 20ppm.
Make sure any new water is free of chlorine/ chloramine before it's added to the tank.

-------------------