Disappearing Fish!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

adelinamz

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi. I'm brand new to fishkeeping and have recently set up a 29-gal
tank (7 weeks ago). I had 8 zebra danios, 9 neon tetras, 2 dwarf
gouramis, 2 orange platies, and 3 small angels-- a white one, black
one, and a black/white spotted one.

I had two black angelfish die (both the original and the one I replaced it with) I replaced the 2nd black angel with another and since then I had a neon tetra die (it was over a year old, from a small tank my son had) and found a zebra danio wrapped around the filter intake tube. And now, it's been two days with no sign whatsoever of the white angel and four of the zebra danios! I've carefully searched and searched and there's no sign of
them. I think 2 neons are missing too! Granted, we do have a lot of plastic plants in there but I really have looked very carefully, moving the tank away from the wall, peeling off the backing and examining the back of the tank as well. The other fish (including the new black angel that we got on Wednesday) seem to be doing fine.

This is VERY discouraging . . . Any ideas? The angel certainly was too big to be eaten and I'd say the danios were too. The tank is kept covered except for the hole where the filter hangs and another small hole where a heater used to hang--now there are a couple of air tubes going through there. It seems to me that a fish would have to try awfully hard to jump out of there. Although the water level was pretty high after my last water-change. But I've searched the floor around the tank and there are no signs of fish. . . <sigh> :(