dry rock

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ste76

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone,
I am about to convert my fresh water tank to a reef tank and would like to ask a question about dry rock. As I am new to saltwater I am a little concerned about the potential to introduce some bad hitchhikers and not knowing how to deal with them if it happens.
If I use only dry rock, how would I start the cycle? And in time, would it be as effective as starting with live rock? I know the cycle will take a lot longer but I dont have an issue with that.

Any advice is greatly appreciated
Thanks

If you want to start a virgin tank, here's what I'd do. Take some of the rocks from the top of your structure and out them into a 1-5 gal pail. Top with water and add a bottle of Dr Tim's or other additive to the bucket. Leave it for 1-2 days with a heater. Then place the rocks back in the tank and start a normal fish less cycle.

When you are ready to start your cycle buy some Dr Tims One and Only with their ammonia. Follow directions and you'll be cycled in about a week. Did my 75 and 24 nano had no issues.

no you wont. But the bacteria in the bottle will have eaten all the ammonia. So your ammonia level will hit 0. But once this pretend cycle is complete, you'll have very little BB on your rocks and sand.

So using a second tank is better? Just know what has worked for me.

I would just put all the rock in and toss a raw cocktail shrimp in the tank and wait it out. 3 weeks to a month and you will be good to go.

no you wont. But the bacteria in the bottle will have eaten all the ammonia. So your ammonia level will hit 0. But once this pretend cycle is complete, you'll have very little BB on your rocks and sand.