Dying fish...Odd - Real newbie here needs help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Just Dave

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I have had much success with fresh water, so I thought I would try salt water, and was doing great. I am very new to salt, so I do not know the tricky names, I am sorry if I come off as ignorant. I have done my best to learn, this forum is the latest endeavor to learn and enjoy my tank, which I enjoy very much, as does my whole family, my son loves it, and will watch the fish for hours.

The tank is a 30 hex, it has been up and running for four months. I bought the test kit, the PH is 8.2 thir is no nitrites anymore, the nitrates are low, the ammonia is low, I keep the tank at 79 to 80 deg. It has a crushed coral bottom of about three inches, a Penguin emp 280 filter on its back and a airstone to help turn the water. Salt water is .023

Tank colony

Healthy

1- On Medium Hermit crab (we like him allot)
4- Snails
1- Lobster looking crayfish with bright white spots (hides allot but neat looking)
1- One half white and half red fish, with an odd tall white antenna like fin on top that stands straight up (don't know the name sorry)

Fish I have lost first

Squished my Cleaner shrimp first - my fault, accident with live rock
Clown fish died after a week, he went in with live rock
Hipocam was next (think thats the name, looks like dori from Nemo) originally was fine for months, died after clown,

Two Damsels, was fine for months, died some time after Hippo

Then I tried

another two damsels - Dead in two days
Tried another clownfish Dead in one day
another half purple half yellow fish, dead two days
Maybe half a dozen more damsels, Dead, dead dead.. Sigh..

Tested water, - it all looked good, couldn't see anything, water changes on time...

It was hard to figure out if the fish had any ick or anything because