Excited 11yo and new 10g tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

weldon

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm trying to help my son out with his new tank. I'd appreciate any advice you have for a total beginner.

Our 11 year old got a new 10 gallon fish tank for Christmas from Nana and Papa and Uncle. It's a TopFin 10 gallon freshwater starter kit. We added 15lbs of gravel (no undergravel filter), some fake plants, and a castle (very exciting for the 11yo). We treated the water with aquasafe and added stresszyme to try and jumpstart the cycle. The kit came with a TopFin 10 filter (with a charcoal bag) and a heater. I tried to explain that we needed to wait for the nitrogen cycle to get going in the tank.

That lasted about 4 days and then we had to get some fish.

So we added two leopard danios and let them have the tank to themselves for a week. We used the biocoat dose that came with the kit right before the fish went into the tank. A week later, we did a 25% water change (with some light gravel vacuuming) and then added 2 more danios. Right now we've got all 4 leopard danios hanging out but the tank is only two weeks old.

I haven't been testing every day, but the pH has been locked at 8.0 or so. Nitrites have been zero, Ammonia was .25 with the two fish, but has climbed to .50 two days after the 3rd and 4th fish were added. Nitrates are at 20ppm today. I've been testing the water with Mardel 5-in-1 test strips and Mardel Ammonia test strips.

I'm going to help do a water change right after this post to try and bring these levels down.

Our plan at this point is to wait another two weeks and add a single Dwarf Gourami. Here are my questions...

Do we need to add more leopard danios to make them happy? Do they really need 5 or 6? They seem to zip around all the time (which I guess is normal for Danios) and I don't see them "schooling" per se.