Experienced cichlid keepers, I need you!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

zooking12

Aquarium Advice Freak
I am relatively new to the larger cichlids scene, and wanted some advice from those cichlid keepers that are more experienced.
What cichlids do you all recommend to go in with this stock?:
55 Gallon:
3 angelfish (a pair and a third)
1 pair of blue acara cichlids
8 serpae tetras
1 pair of other cichlids

I was thinking gbrs, or maybe bolivians. Or perhaps firemouths. And anyone who can share their personal testimonies for any of these cichlids would be welcome. Thank you

The angels may pair up and beat on the 3rd. Dont get firemouth to aggressive for angels. Get a pair of gbr.
2 angels
2 german blue rams
1-2 blue acara (may go after tetras and nip angels)
Whatever schooling fish you want big enough to not fit in acaras mouth.

The angels may pair up and beat on the 3rd. Dont get firemouth to aggressive for angels. Get a pair of gbr.
2 angels
2 german blue rams
1-2 blue acara (may go after tetras and nip angels)
Whatever schooling fish you want big enough to not fit in acaras mouth.

My angels are supposed to be a pair but they won't spawn and I'm hoping that a third angel will be the last little push they need. And as for the acaras, if I get them young, get the tetras big, and put the tetras and angels in first, I'm hoping things will go smoothly. In my experience, cichlids that have the home team advantage tend to stand a better chance. So if the lone angel is in before the other two it should give her a chance. Do you think this might work?

Yes it may work. I dont know much about the blue acaras but they get around 6-8" if they sat at 6" i might be ok but if they get 8" you might have to rehome one.