Filter and water change

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nogauthi

Aquarium Advice Activist
Yes so I'm new at this. Got a 65 gallon with 17 African cichlids and live plants. Was told to do a water change once a month. Would that make sense.
And how often do I change the filter?

Swish filter cartridge in old tank water and replace when falling apart. There's not set time limit to do a water change. Your water parameters determine how often and how much of a pwc to do

Yes so I'm new at this. Got a 65 gallon with 17 African cichlids and live plants. Was told to do a water change once a month. Would that make sense.
And how often do I change the filter?

Not sure about once a month. You have a lot of fish there and so they will produce a lot of waste. Most people with African Cichlids do water changes once or twice a week, around 25% each time. I don't keep them myself but this seems to be the common consensus from what I can gather. This is one of the reasons it put me off keeping Africans, overstocking means lots of waste. But saying that I know somebody with two oscars in a 63 gallon tank who only change water every 6 weeks but they do use two big filters.

I personally do a weekly water change of 25% but just keep a Jack Dempsey and a Green Terror. I like to do this as its no hassle really, only an hour of my time a week to clean tank and do water change. Would rather do this and not worry so much about water quality.

First, is the tank new? Has it been cycled? If it hasn't you need to plan on doing a lot and I mean a lot of water changes till it is or you are going to start lose in fish. Also do you
Have a test kit?

phishfriend said:
First, is the tank new? Has it been cycled? If it hasn't you need to plan on doing a lot and I mean a lot of water changes till it is or you are going to start lose in fish. Also do you